Draft Strategy: Sticking with a middle round draft order? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Draft Strategy: Sticking with a middle round draft order?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Draft Strategy: Sticking with a middle round draft order?

Postby Rusman » Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:51 pm

I've been playing FF for 4 years now and each year I've been somewhere in the middle or end of the draft order. I have done well every year as I made it to the playoffs, but only two years did I do well enough to win money.

As I said, I've never been in the top draft order, and since I've made the playoffs and won money, I'm kinda liking being at the bottom of the barrel as far as picking goes. Now I know that FF isn't all about just picking your team; trades and the WW play a big part.

We all know that the talent pool drops off significantly at a few points in the draft. I feel that it conincides with the 2nd round picks for the top guys. The last guys to pick have already almost hit the talent drop off when they make their first pick.

So, for that reason, I think I will try to get a middle round draft pick in the years to come.

What do you guys think?
Rusman
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

Home Cafe: Football
Location: Regular Season Champ - Survived the semi-finals and on to the Championship game!!

Postby gatorman1122 » Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:58 pm

Here's my advance New Year's Resolution for FF
1st rd-whatever pick: try to get Peyton Manning or Daunte Culpepper
2nd rd-get Randy Moss, TO, McNabb
3rd rd-2nd rate RB
4th rd-2nd/3rd rate RB
don't draft TE, K, or D
If I can't get manning/culpepper/mcnabb, wait til rds 7-8 for 2nd/3rd rate qb

Basically, I'm just trying to get Manning or Culpepper, which pretty much solidifies my playoff spot.
gatorman1122
Head Coach
Head Coach

Postby matmat » Mon Nov 15, 2004 8:07 pm

depends.