Large league pitfalls question - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Large league pitfalls question

Moderator: Football Moderators

Large league pitfalls question

Postby Fengshui » Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:24 am

Hello everyone,
I've been running a 10 team year-to-year (IDP) league for a couple years. This year I'd like to allow 14 teams due to interest level. What kind of pitfalls in general should I be aware of in going from 10 to a larger 14 teams.

Team balance is what people I've spoken to in my league are mainly afraid of with 14 teams. We normally use a serpentine draft but it seems as though this may really hurt the people on the ends.

Idea's or thought's would be appreciated. Thanks!
Fengshui
Monday Morning Quarterback

Home Cafe: Football

Postby Crafty » Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:43 am

Did a 14-teamer last year, and it went just fine. Serpentine draft was good, too. As for pitfalls, we didn't really encounter any, but here were a few details:

- 8 teams made the playoffs, so pretty much everyone was in it until the final weeks (the eighth seed wound up pulling it out)

- waiver wire and fa was done all at once, on one day a week. everyone had to submit their moves on wednesday before 6 pm, and the results were announced on thursday. this made fa an equalizer, and people who watch the internet all day didn't get an advantage from a first-come first-served system.

- league was yardage heavy, 1 pt for 10 rush/receiving, and 1 per 20 yards passing, making players valuable even if they weren't always scoring touchdowns. helped make up for lack of depth. (TD's were 4 for passing, 6 for rushing/receiving, btw.)

Overall it was a great league. The draft won't determine the winner so much as who adjusts during the year and makes the best trades, which is how it should be.

Hope this helps, good luck.
Fortune favours the bold.
Crafty
Offensive Coordinator
Offensive Coordinator

Postby Santacruzer » Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:05 am