Sipho wrote:In that confusing ramble the ref gave in the Tampa game, he cited some rule. Is there a rule that a player has to maintain possession after he hits the ground? It would seem to me that the instant a guy has possession in the endzone, the play is over, regardless of what happens when he hits the ground.
It depends entirely on how you define possession and when one acquires it. If you're on your feet and make the catch you have possession when you have two feet inbounds.
If you're falling and have completed the catch you must retain possession until you've stopped falling.
In the Tampa Bay case, although he started catching the ball on his feet he didn't "complete" the catch until he was falling. At that point he must retain the ball as he hits the ground. Had he caught the ball upright, two feet inbounds it wouldn't have mattered if he started his fall afterward.
It's a bit technical, but the right call was made.