Career Change... - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to General Talk

Career Change...

Moderator: Football Moderators

Career Change...

Postby Warpigs » Mon May 29, 2006 12:02 pm

It's amazing how someone's priorities change when they have a family. Later this week, I'll be leaving my supervisor/counselor/marketing director job at a local central PA group home -- after over six years of working my way up the ladder. There have been a lot of good memories over the years, along with some major stress and countless hours of filling in for a depleted staff and to de-escalate some very disturbed teens. I have learned a lot from all this, and it's very nerve-wracking in some ways to make a change with a 19-month old daughter and a 15-year old adopted son.

I'll be taking on a sport editor position at one of the larger local papers. I have over five years experience in this field, so I'm not going at it blind, but that doesn't change some of the worries. It's interesting how taking risks that seemed almost second-nature a couple of years ago now has so many potential ramifications. Of course, we'll be saving over $300 a month on health insurance, getting dental and vision (didn't have before), actually getting sick and personal days, etc. helps the transition for sure.

Anyway, I'm sure there's others here who have been in similar situations.
Warpigs
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe RankerCafe Spotter
(Past Year: 3)
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Popcynical » Mon May 29, 2006 2:19 pm

Well, good luck on your career change. Sports writing sounds kinda fun. :-)
Popcynical
General Manager
General Manager

Eagle EyePick 3 Weekly Winner

Postby mysticphysh » Mon May 29, 2006 2:26 pm

Good luck with that! All the best! ;-D
mysticphysh
General Manager
General Manager

Postby logan » Mon May 29, 2006 2:29 pm

good luck man. ;-D
logan
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

CafeholicCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 12)