auction - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

auction

Moderator: Football Moderators

auction

Postby grover99 » Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:21 pm

I'm going into my 2nd year in an auction league. I would like to know if anybody has any % they go by. I'm thinking RB 45%,WR30%,QB,15%,TE 5%, K and DEF 5%. 1Qb,2RB,2WR,1TE,1 Flex (RB,WR,TE),1K,1DEF.
grover99
Head Coach
Head Coach

Mock(ing) DrafterTrivia Time Trial ChampionSweet 16 SurvivorCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 2)
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Santacruzer » Fri Jun 09, 2006 3:50 am

I'm not very experienced in Auctions, but I wouldn't use percentages as my main gauge.

I think that it varies by player, and demand.
Santacruzer
General Manager
General Manager

CafeholicMock(ing) Drafter

Postby Dexter II » Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:54 pm

I'm not aware of any broadly used guidelines for % of cap by position. However, I do think it is a good idea for each owner to enter an auction with a general salary cap allocation plan. This of course can change quite a bit as the auction progresses.

Usually I will review player values and tier players based on my expectations for the coming year and see who I can expect to get for certain prices. This helps me understand how much I'll need to spend by position for the type of team I'm building.

Cap allocation also will differ depending if you go with a studs and duds, balanced roster, RB heavy, etc strategies. As well as whether you want to have a top flight TE.

I think your distribution is pretty good as a starting point but would consider increasing RB to 50-55% given that you can start 3 RB's with the flex position. Maybe take 2% from K/D, and a bit from WR and QB. Again it depends a lot on what your strategy is but since you start 3 RB's I think the money would be well spent there.
Fatalism Helps with the Jump but not the Fall
Dexter II
Offensive Coordinator
Offensive Coordinator