The Standard Deviation as an Important FF Statistic? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

The Standard Deviation as an Important FF Statistic?

Moderator: Football Moderators

The Standard Deviation as an Important FF Statistic?

Postby The_Dude » Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:08 pm

Hey Cafe'ers,

Duder here. So some of you may or may not know that I am a political scientist - and most may or may not know what it is that I do, outside of teaching. Most of my research uses applied statistical methodology to look at questions in survey research. Basically, this preface is meant to say that I'm a stats guy, although for some odd reason, I've never really mixed my work with my hobby and my fantasy football strategies, etc., have rarely employed much science (if we can call it that).

However, I've been thinking a lot about a stats 101 concept and if/how/when it has some applicability to fantasy football statistics analysis - the standard deviation.

What is a standard deviation? The standard deviation is essentially the average absolute value deviation from the average. Mathematically, you would calculate the average of a series of numbers, take each number and substract the average from it, square that term, and add all of those up. Divide them by the number of observations in your sequence and take the square root (or with a row or column of data in excel, you can type stdev(a1:a20) or stdev(a1:a1).

Is there any value in it for fantasy football? Well, in a sense, standard deviation is a measure of consistency - how much a player fluctuates from week to week.

Just as a matter to see if what others think - if there is any value in this (because its a pain in the arse to calculate), I've calculated the mean and standard deviations for the top 10 RBs in my league last year (based on yardage of the top 10 fantasy point scoring backs).

It looks like this...

Player Avg yds stdev
S. Alexander 122.38 40.55