What book are you reading right now?? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe


Return to General Talk

What book are you reading right now??

Moderator: Football Moderators

Postby A Fleshner Fantasy » Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:33 am

Simulacrum wrote:
SunnydaleSpike wrote:Different Seasons-Stephen King


Nice.. that's a very good one. ;-D

You should all read Dune. One of the most intriguing and intelligent novels ever written.


I have heard about that book, but am yet to read it. I assume from your comment that you reccomend it?
Image

Thanks to abrunn for the awesome sig
A Fleshner Fantasy
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 7746
Joined: 11 May 2006
Home Cafe: Football
Location: The Big House

Postby Dewdrop » Sun Oct 08, 2006 9:40 am

re reading To Kill a Mockingbird[/i]
Dewdrop
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

User avatar

Posts: 100
Joined: 4 Oct 2006
Home Cafe: Football
Location: So Cal

Postby A Fleshner Fantasy » Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:11 pm

Good book.
Image

Thanks to abrunn for the awesome sig
A Fleshner Fantasy
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 7746
Joined: 11 May 2006
Home Cafe: Football
Location: The Big House

Postby pokeyjoe » Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:07 am

I just finished the Godfather, and in school we're reading Catcher in the Rye, which seems pretty good. I have a bunch of books sitting around which I've been meaning to read but haven't got to, like Heart of Darkness.
pokeyjoe
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

User avatar

Posts: 191
Joined: 9 Apr 2006
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby josebach » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:04 pm

Thought I'd bring this thread back.

Recently read "Thunderhead" by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Decent popcorn book. Worth a look, but kind of mindless. I was ready for it to be over.


Currently reading "Xenocide" by Orson Scott Card. I'm about a third of the way through it and so far I like it a lot better than "Speaker for the Dead". For fans of "Ender's Game", I thought I'd let everyone know they're making an "Ender's Game" movie set to be released in 2008. It's being directed by Wolfgang Peterson, so it should definitely be worth watching. ;-D
josebach
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Cafe Ranker
Posts: 4611
Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Home Cafe: Football
Location: Tallahassee, FL

Postby A Fleshner Fantasy » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:42 pm

pokeyjoe wrote:I just finished the Godfather, and in school we're reading Catcher in the Rye, which seems pretty good. I have a bunch of books sitting around which I've been meaning to read but haven't got to, like Heart of Darkness.


Yeah, I read catcher in the rye in school earlier this year...as far as school books go, it wasnt bad.
Image

Thanks to abrunn for the awesome sig
A Fleshner Fantasy
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Posts: 7746
Joined: 11 May 2006
Home Cafe: Football
Location: The Big House

Postby wickerkat » Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:54 pm

i like preston/child, but right, this isn't their best book

i've been meaning to get into ender's game - you like?
wickerkat
Head Coach
Head Coach

User avatar

Posts: 1680
(Past Year: 1)
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Home Cafe: Football
Location: Chicago

Postby knapplc » Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:59 pm

wickerkat wrote:i like preston/child, but right, this isn't their best book

i've been meaning to get into ender's game - you like?


Ender's Game was pretty good. Worth the read. The next couple of books after that were a bit weird IMO, but I read them a long time ago.

Right now I'm reading the Dune series. I've recently decided to go back and re-read all of my novels. Since July I've read about 20 or so novels. It's been a lot of fun. ;-D
Image
How 'bout them Huskers!
knapplc
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Cafe WriterCafe RankerGolden Eagle EyeCafe MusketeerCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner
Posts: 18961
Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Home Cafe: Football
Location: It's an L, not an I

Postby deerayfan072 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:49 pm

I am currently reading Law Text books, the great world of Case Law :-t
Image
deerayfan072
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar
Fantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeWeb SupporterCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner
Posts: 18976
Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Home Cafe: Football
Location: On an Island

Postby beanoX3 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:49 pm

knapplc wrote:Right now I'm reading the Dune series. I've recently decided to go back and re-read all of my novels. Since July I've read about 20 or so novels. It's been a lot of fun. ;-D

Have you read any of the Dune prequels written by Herbert's son and Anderson? Not as great as the originals, but the backstory is great.



I probably read 4-5 books a month, but I go through a lot of them popcorn books, so a lot of them don't really stick in my mind. I like military and espionage fiction though, although lately I've been reading Christopher Buckley. "No Way to Treat a First Lady" was hilarious, as was "Thank You For Smoking." The movie, not so much but still good. I've been trying to find some good comedic sports fiction too, but except for Lupica and a couple others I've found, the genre is scarce. "Bump and Run" and "Redzone" by Mike Lupica should be made into a movie.
beanoX3
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

User avatar

Posts: 5971
Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Home Cafe: Football

PreviousNext

Return to General Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Start & Sit Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Get Ready...
The 2014 NFL season kicks off in 5:36 hours
(and 36 days)
2014 NFL Schedule


  • Fantasy Football
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact