Helping out a newbie on draft day - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Helping out a newbie on draft day

Moderator: Football Moderators

Helping out a newbie on draft day

Postby Gags Sports » Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:06 am

This is my second year doing fantasy football. I'm trying to devise a draft-day strategy and more importantly, what I should bring to my live draft.

I've been playing fantasy baseball for over 10 years and pretty much know all the players and have a good idea of the stat categories each player excels in without having to reference a book. However, I'm struggling with football because I just don't have the experience quite yet. What I do for baseball is pre-rank all players by position onto one piece of paper using MS Excel. I find it's an extremely useful tool for me in not only knowing who is left on the board on draft day, but I can easily tell who I have ranked the next-highest by referencing the list. Obviously other factors need to be taken into account when I reference the sheet, such as if my team lacks speed, and I still don't have a 2B, then I need to not just take the next best player at that position, I actually have to look for guys who can steal bases.

Sorry to bring baseball into this, but I'm wondering if pre-ranking players by position is a good/bad strategy for me to use? Without getting too in-depth, what other draft-day strategies can I implement this year in the hopes of winning my league?

Here are the specs:

10 team, H2H with QB, RB, RB, WR, WR, TE, K, DEF

We keep two players from last year and my keepers will be Shaun Alexander and Hines Ward. I'm not really asking about which players to draft. This is more about what I can do to better prepare for draft day.

Thanks for the help!
Gags Sports
Water Boy
Water Boy

Lucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Home Cafe: Baseball

if you have a laptop

Postby mlavwilson » Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:48 pm