Drafting strategy - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Drafting strategy

Moderator: Football Moderators

Drafting strategy

Postby sjphi26 » Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:37 am

I am still pretty new at this FF thing. I have played casually for 3 years, but this is only the 2nd season that I have taken it seriously, and I am about to draft for my first money league.

I want to run my strategy by you guys.

I am thinking of going this route

1 RB
2 RB
3 WR
4 WR
5 RB
6 TE
7 QB
8 Best available RB or WR
9 Same as above
10 "
11 "
12 "
13 Backup QB
14 Backup TE
15 D
16 K

-
-
-

Is this a good strategy? I feel like I might be putting myself in a box by following a strict outline, and miss out on some good picks. But having a plan makes me feel comfortable, and not so dumbfounded when it is my turn to pick.

Do I need to take a backup TE, or just hit the waivers on the bye week?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
sjphi26 Beginner
Cheerleader
Cheerleader

Home Cafe: Football

Postby Vixtor » Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:49 am

You don't need a strategy. Kicker and defense the last two rounds is generally a good idea. Backup tight end kind of depends on who your starter is. Usually not necessary. If it helps then go with the strategy but there are going to be situations where you pass up the best scenario due to following a specific pattern.
The facts have no meaning.
Vixtor
Head Coach
Head Coach

Postby Sixxgunn » Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:13 am

I halfway agree with Vixtor. I feel it is good to have a set plan in mind, but you always have to allow for some flexibility. There is definitely going to be a moment where your plan says to take a RB, but the WR that falls to you is just too good to pass up. Keep your outline, but be able to alter it on the fly.
[url=http://imageshack.us][img]http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/1065/sixgunn7ao0rc.jpg[/img][/url]
Sixxgunn
General Manager
General Manager

(Past Year: 3)