6 pts per passing TD... QB more valuable now? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

6 pts per passing TD... QB more valuable now?

Moderator: Football Moderators

6 pts per passing TD... QB more valuable now?

Postby milo » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:41 pm

Its my first year in a 12 team league where QB's get 6 pts per passing TD instead of the usual 4 pts that I am used to in other leagues with 1 pt per 25 yards passing. WR/RB get 6 per TD and 1 pt for 10 yards. Question is...do you draft a QB earlier than you normally would. I usually pick up a QB in rounds 7-8 after my RB's, WR's and a TE. That extra 2 pts for a touchdown put more value for the QB position worthy of drafting one early?
milo
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

Home Cafe: Football

Postby Kensat30 » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:44 pm

If anything it just lowers the value of running QBs like Vick.
Kensat30
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Cafe Writer

Postby Crippler » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:50 pm

No, think about it logically. If EVERY quarterback gets the same advantage of 6TDs, why would they move up in the draft? Cant you still get a decent QB towards the end of the draft? They will still benefit just as much as a QB taken early. The only exception is if you think Manning will throw a ton of TDs, in which case you may be able to justify taking him a few spots earlier. Other than him, most QBs shouldnt move up or down much.

"Cincinatti leads the league in 'Johnsons'" - John Madden

$$$ Leagues $$$
ChaunFL: 11-5 *2nd Place*
BGKFL: 15-1 *Champion*
Dirty Dukes: 12-5 *2nd Place*
Win %: 77.55
Crippler
Head Coach
Head Coach

Eagle EyeLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 17)

Postby milo » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:56 pm

Yeah I guess that is what I was getting at. I normally wouldnt pick a Manning, Palmer, or Brady early...wasnt sure if that scoring made it worth it. Last year the difference between top qb and 10th best was 12 touchdowns (palmers 32)
milo
Defensive Assistant