Rules Question - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe


Return to Football Talk

Rules Question

Moderator: Football Moderators

Rules Question

Postby FantasyMan13 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 4:35 pm

Shouldn't spiking the ball (to stop the clock) technically be considered intentional grounding? I guess it's a judgement call, but it seems like, if a QB is about to be sacked while still in the pocket, he could "spike" the ball and say argue he was trying to stop the clock. Can anyone explain this? (Bored as you can tell lol).
FantasyMan13
General Manager
General Manager

User avatar
Cafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyePick 3 Weekly WinnerCafe Blackjack Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Posts: 4171
(Past Year: 40)
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Home Cafe: Football

Postby buffalobillsrul2002 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:40 pm

I believe a part of the "intentional grounding" rule states that you can't throw the ball away to avoid a sack. Meaning that you can throw the ball away, as long as you aren't under pressure. When a QB spikes the ball, he is not "avoiding a sack", he is just trying to stop the clock.
buffalobillsrul2002
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant


Posts: 635
Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby grover99 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:29 pm

You can only spike the ball immediatly(sp?) after taking the snap from under center. You can't spike the ball after a shotgun snap either.
grover99
Head Coach
Head Coach

User avatar
Mock(ing) DrafterTrivia Time Trial ChampionSweet 16 SurvivorCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner
Posts: 1821
(Past Year: 2)
Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Home Cafe: Football
Location: missouri


Return to Football Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Forums Articles & Tips Start & Sit Sleepers Rankings Leagues


Get Ready...
The 2014 NFL season kicks off in 20:34 hours
(and 38 days)
2014 NFL Schedule


  • Fantasy Football
  • Article Submissions
  • Privacy Statement
  • Site Survey 
  • Contact