Experimenting with new Draft Styles - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Experimenting with new Draft Styles

Moderator: Football Moderators

Experimenting with new Draft Styles

Postby RWLongy4 » Mon Jan 08, 2007 2:55 pm

I've been playing fantasy football for quite a few years but I really haven't experimented with draft styles other than the traditional snake draft order. I've heard good things about an auction style draft and I feel like it could make for a fun activity to do in person with a bunch of buddies for my league next year.

For those of you more experienced with the style, I was wondering are auction style drafts worth trying? If so what are some essential rules/guidelines that go well with an auction style draft? Any other tips?
RWLongy4
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle Eye
(Past Year: 1)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Experimenting with new Draft Styles

Postby dream_017 » Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:52 pm

RWLongy4 wrote:I've been playing fantasy football for quite a few years but I really haven't experimented with draft styles other than the traditional snake draft order. I've heard good things about an auction style draft and I feel like it could make for a fun activity to do in person with a bunch of buddies for my league next year.

For those of you more experienced with the style, I was wondering are auction style drafts worth trying? If so what are some essential rules/guidelines that go well with an auction style draft? Any other tips?

I participated in my first auctions here at the cafe this year. I have not have a live auction, but would like to try it. It is a different mentallity going into the draft and trying to make sure you spend the right amount for the initial players you draft and then there is the nomination process, do you nominate a player you want or a player that people will spend a lot on that you don't care for. Many factors to consider.