Can a Girl Get Some Help? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

Can a Girl Get Some Help?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Can a Girl Get Some Help?

Postby caligal » Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:40 pm

Hello fellow football fans/fantasy football players. I just joined a league and this is my first season as an owner. I am the only female in my league and I'm itching to beat some of these guys that have been playing for a couple of years now. I am studying up to get a feel for game strategies. Can you help me out? What are some helpful hints or tips that you pros think I should know? Thanks for helping out this lady underdog. :)
-Caligal
caligal
Cheerleader
Cheerleader

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Can a Girl Get Some Help?

Postby FF Newbie » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:21 am

Hey, caligirl. Welcome to the Cafe and welcome to fantasy football! There is a ton of information out there on the game, but the basics are really pretty simple, so don't let it overwhelm you. The most important part of fantasy football is the draft. You need to be prepared for the draft by checking out several "cheatsheets," which are rankings of all the players, either by each position separately or of all players at every position in a single ranking. It's also a good idea to check out the Average Draft Position (ADP) of players, so you'll know generally where each player is drafted. You don't want to draft a player 3 or 4 rounds before you have to. If you haven't played before, you should participate in a few "mock drafts" to get your feet wet and gain some experience before the real thing. There are several good sites where you can "mock" for free.