IDP Question: Jonathan Vilma - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

IDP Question: Jonathan Vilma

Moderator: Football Moderators

IDP Question: Jonathan Vilma

Postby FF Newbie » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:54 am

This is my first year playing in an IDP league and I have a question about Jonathan Vilma. How or why did he go from 128 solo tackles in 2005 to just 68 last year? Was he moved from the inside to the outside or did the Jets go from a 4-3 to a 3-4? What's the explanation for his huge drop in production and should I be expecting Vilma's '05 or '06 numbers or something in-between?
FF Newbie
General Manager
General Manager

Mock(ing) DrafterEagle Eye
Home Cafe: Football

Re: IDP Question: Jonathan Vilma

Postby Kilroy » Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:11 am

FF Newbie wrote:This is my first year playing in an IDP league and I have a question about Jonathan Vilma. How or why did he go from 128 solo tackles in 2005 to just 68 last year? Was he moved from the inside to the outside or did the Jets go from a 4-3 to a 3-4? What's the explanation for his huge drop in production and should I be expecting Vilma's '05 or '06 numbers or something in-between?

The Jets switched from a 4-3 to a 3-4, and Vilma's individual stats suffered as a result. With a year in that scheme under his belt I think Vilma's numbers will be better this year than last, but I wouldn't expect a repeat of '05 any time soon.

"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it." -- Voltaire
Kilroy
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Fantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerGraphics ExpertMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe Musketeer

Postby killiansjmd » Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:06 am

like Kilroy said the Jets moved from a 4-3 to a 3-4. Vilma really struggled with this transition in the beginning of the season. He got better as the season went on and so far in TC, Mangini has said he has looked good. I would probably rank him anywhere in the 15-20 range for LB's.