Draft Prep and Value - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

Draft Prep and Value

Moderator: Football Moderators

Draft Prep and Value

Postby jruiss01 » Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:20 pm

I've been doing this for about two years running now and i think my learning curve has greatly increased. My two questions are about draft prep and value.

I want to know what kind of prep is necessary to draft a top team (e.g. cheat sheets, research)?

Also on draft day I do become very indecisive. I tend to daft players who are younger and have more upside as opposed to a vet who is proven but waning. I wanted to know a good value measure (e.g. projected fantasy points or 3 year avg). Thoughts?

"When the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea". - Eric Cantona
jruiss01
Head Coach
Head Coach

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Draft Prep and Value

Postby kyguy78 » Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:40 pm

Really, I put a lot of research into my drafts. I look at multiple rankings, I read training camp buzz, I look at the way they finished last season, etc. I then create my own cheat sheet based on all this information. It's somewhat time consuming, but I very rarely have a draft that I'm not satisfied with.

"Just when you think you know the answers, I change the questions!"
kyguy78
Head Coach
Head Coach

Postby stomperrob » Wed Aug 08, 2007 9:53 pm

Basically you can never have too much info - check lots of rankings and projections and come up with your own and tweak them a bit based on your knowledge and gut feelings. And then keep an eye on training camp and injury reports (the Cafe is a great place for that) to keep updating your list.
Fantasy Football: "Luck is where preparation meets opportunity"
stomperrob

ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyePick 3 ChampionMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 138)