First year in fantasy football-What do you folks think? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

First year in fantasy football-What do you folks think?

Moderator: Football Moderators

First year in fantasy football-What do you folks think?

Postby scr » Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:50 am

I'm brand new to fantasy football, just had my draft yesterday. what do you folks think?
(14 team league)

QB: Palmer
WR: Holt
WR: Calvin Johnson
WR: Kennison
RB: Alexander
RB: McAllister
TE: Gonzalez (KC)
K: Keating
DEF: Chargers

Reserves:
QB: Vince Young
WR: Ginn
WR: Wilford
RB: Dayne
RB: Pittman

I just went by ratings and avg. draft position. Thanks in advance.
scr
Monday Morning Quarterback

Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: First year in fantasy football-What do you folks think?

Postby stomperrob » Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:38 pm

You've got 2 solid QB's so I'm guessing you pulled the trigger on them too early as the rest of your team is not very strong. Your starting RB's, Alexander & McAllister are good but you have no depth - Dayne & Pittman aren't starters - you should have grabbed at least 1 more starter. You really have only one stud WR in Holt - Calvin will be good, but first year WR's rarely produce great numbers, and the rest are nothing special. TE, K, and D are all good.
Fantasy Football: "Luck is where preparation meets opportunity"
stomperrob

ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe WriterCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyePick 3 ChampionMatchup Meltdown SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 168)
Home Cafe: Football

Postby mthomas720 » Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:59 pm

Calvin Johnson is a #3 WR at best, so it looks like you're a little weak at WR. RBs are decent but not great. As stomperrob said you probably went too early on your QBs since you have 2 strong ones. Maybe you can try to trade Young for an upgrade at WR? Not bad overall.
Props to sigmaker for the sig