Beginner Question - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

Beginner Question

Moderator: Football Moderators

Beginner Question

Postby BenTheMan » Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:26 pm

Hello all---

I am new to Fantasy Football, and would like to get a few words of wisdom. I've done a bit of homework, but there is no substitute for actually talking to people.

I am in a 10 team league, with the third pick. We get points for receptions, passing TD's are worth only 4 pts (bonuses for longer plays), but otherwise I think the scoring is standard. I get to keep Brian Westbrook, which cost me a fourth round pick.

The question is, how does the scoring change the ranking of the RB's? I have seen many ``cheat sheets''---LT is always #1, but the #2 guys are generally up for grabs. For example, Shaun Alexander plays in a poor defensive division, and Lerry Johnson is Larry Johnson. Because we get points for receptions, I think that Steven Jackson should be ranked pretty highly, along with Reggie Bush.

My question is, who is a good 1st rd/3rd pick, given the scoring? Again, right now Steven Jackson is my main choce, assuming that the first pick is LT and the second pick is one of the other elite backs. Any suggestions?

Right now, my second round pick (17th overall) is slated for an RB or WR. Should there be any preference for one or the other? My guess was that it would be nice to have three very good running backs at the getgo.

Thanks in advance for the advice.
BenTheMan
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Beginner Question

Postby MasterOfDisaster » Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:23 pm