Using a WR in the Flex spot? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Using a WR in the Flex spot?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Using a WR in the Flex spot?

Postby Doughhead » Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:18 am

My league starts 2 RBs, 3 WRs, and a Flex (RB/WR). In the past, I've always seen starting a WR in the Flex spot as a big no-no, didn't really even consider it as an option. But this year, I ended up with a gaggle of borderline flex backs (Foster, DeAngelo, JJ, BJax...). None of them seem starter quality.

So is it crazy to use someone like Calvin Johnson or Braylon Edwards in that spot (my starting WRs are Javon, AJ, and Driver)? I've never done it before and it just seems like a bad idea--but I can't really think of a good reason why I should bench those solid receivers over my borderline backs?

(I don't mean this to be a Who to Start question--I'm more just using my specific circumstances as an example. I'm curious to know how you guys feel about using a WR as a Flex as a general rule).

Thanks.
Doughhead
Doughhead
Offensive Coordinator
Offensive Coordinator

Cafe Ranker
Home Cafe: Baseball

Re: Using a WR in the Flex spot?

Postby knapplc » Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:20 am

It's absolutley not crazy. Last week my choice for Flex was Houshmandzadeh or LaMont Jordan. I put Housh in there without thinking twice. Sure Jordan outscored him 2-1, but he's been so unpredictable lately that there's no way I was going to put him in without seeing what happened first.

I won anyway, but the strategic thought behind the move was sound.
How 'bout them Huskers!
knapplc
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Cafe WriterCafe RankerGolden Eagle EyeCafe MusketeerCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner
Home Cafe: Football

Postby dream_017 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:36 am