Kareighuis wrote:Alright, reading the rules and settings thread, came across this portion.mattb47 wrote:No Trade Clauses (NTC):
One aspect of a salary is a no-trade clause(NTC) that you can add to the salary. If you choose to do this, 25% of the player’s salary each year will be taken away. The player in question must have a base salary of no less than $1 million to be eligible. If you choose to trade a player with a NTC attached, you will be required to pay the remaining money saved by using the NTC (minus the years that player spent on your team) in one lump sum in the form of a cap hit. After the trade, the player’s salary will remain what it was after the NTC was attached.
Am I to take that last sentence as meaning that players with NTC clauses that are traded will have their contracts redone so that-
1- the NTC clause is removed;
2- the per-year salary with the NTC will becomes the baseline per-year salary after the trade?
Take, for example, an NTC player entering the 2nd year of their contract. After accounting for NTC, they're due 4mil in 2012 and 5 mil in 2013. The NTC would be thrown out and the contract would be redone so that the base salary is 4 and 5 million respectively.
Never mind what the difference is.
An easier question to ask- it says the team trading the NTC player away pays the money saved with the NTC in future years. Does that include the current year, pro-rated over games on the roster?
I've never been 100% sure on the NTC, so I'll PM this post to dream so he can confirm, but I'm pretty sure that you are correct. After a trade involving a NTC player, I think the NTC gets removed & the salaries remain what they were for the new owner. This should include the current year, but I'm not sure if the NTC penalty gets pro-rated if the trade is made during the season. My guess is yes, just because:
If you choose to trade a player with a NTC attached, you will be required to pay the remaining money saved by using the NTC (minus the years that player spent on your team) in one lump sum in the form of a cap hit.
Again, I'll PM dream to confirm.