Garden - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to General Talk

Garden

Moderator: Football Moderators

Garden

Postby dream_017 » Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:56 pm

Does anyone else have one? We decided to do one this year, it is my first time, so I did a little research, but don't have a lot of experence with it. Any tips, advice.

We planted it about a month ago. It is an 8' X 10' garden. We actually overbought for it, but I think it will still turn out OK. We have tomatoes, lettuce, dill, red onions, yellow sweet onions, chives, carrots, corn, green/yellow/red peppers and a pumpkin.

So far things seem to be going good, the only thing available right now are the dill and lettuce. Both have been used so far and taste great. Looking forward to the rest of it coming around.
dream_017
Cafe Google
Cafe Google

ModeratorCafeholicFantasy ExpertCafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeCafe MusketeerWeb SupporterPick 3 Weekly WinnerMatchup Meltdown SurvivorCafe Blackjack Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
(Past Year: 70)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Garden

Postby knapplc » Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:01 pm

We've been growing a garden for a few years. I think you've WAY overbought for 8x10, but if you don't mind digging into your tomatoes for the fruit it's not going to be too bad. We have one 6x12 garden with four tomatoes, one cucumber and one pepper, and another more shaded patch that's about 8x12 for herbs.

If your soil is good you'll have decent production from everything. Make sure you give your tomatoes about the same amount of water every couple of days. Too much water one time and too little the next can make the fruit split.

What kind of tomatoes did you plant?
How 'bout them Huskers!
knapplc
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Cafe WriterCafe RankerGolden Eagle EyeCafe MusketeerCafe Blackjack Weekly Winner

Postby dream_017 » Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:16 pm