Auction league setup question - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Auction league setup question

Moderator: Football Moderators

Auction league setup question

Postby Spartan03 » Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:37 pm

This is my first year being in an auction league. The league I'm commishing has been together a few years, so we know each other decently well. None of us have ever been in an auction league, so we are just "winging it" and trying to feel our way through the experience. We debated or voted on most major issues, since we wanted to possibly stay auction-style permanently if it went well. It's a redraft league, so we were just looking for a different take on drafting.

Anyway, this issue came up recently, for which I don't know how to answer: Do we force our teams to draft full rosters?
I had owners on both sides of the fence, neither one really convincing me of their stance. If someone only drafted starters, obviously their starting lineup is going to be superior (assuming they do a decent job drafting, of course) to someone who drafts a full roster. Their bench is going to be extremely weak if they don't hit it big on waivers. One side says it's a tradeoff (depth for talent), while the other side doesn't like the idea that they will be outbid for studs due to having more spots to fill with their money than the other guy. What's the norm for this kind of thing? I really want to make teams draft a full roster, but I can see the strategy involved in the other side of the coin as well.

If it matters, we have a "salary cap" of $100 and have 10 starters and 8 bench, with 10 teams.
Spartan03
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Auction league setup question

Postby dream_017 » Sun Jun 29, 2008 8:49 pm