Help the rookie - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Help the rookie

Moderator: Football Moderators

Help the rookie

Postby TA » Sat Aug 31, 2002 3:31 pm

This is my first year playing fantasy football. I am in a 10 team salary cap league. rules are as follows...

QB. 6 pts a td (thrown or ran) 1pt per 50 yards in the air, 1 pt per 20 ran, -2 per int

RB. 6 pts a td, 1pt per 20 rush/rec, -2 fumble.

WR. 6pts a td, 1pt per 20/rec/rush, -2 fumble.

Some bonus's apply as well 300 yard passing, 100 yard rushing, 100 yard recieving.

starting lineups are 1qb, 2rb, 2wr, 1 te, 1k, 1D

Now My team...

QB -- Aaron Brooks and Gus Frerotte
RB -- Ahman Green, Priest Holmes, Thomas Jones, Kevin Faulk
WR -- Joe Horn, Derrick Mason, Donte Stalworth, Wayne Chrebet
TE -- Chad Lewis, Alge Crumpler
K -- David Akers, Morten Anderson
D -- BUCS & JETS
TA

Home Cafe: Football
Friendliness: %

Postby SolarfluX » Sat Aug 31, 2002 4:37 pm

Looks good to me, although I'd drop Morten and pick up another RB or WR. You only need another kicker for your bye-week fill-in. Same might apply to the Jets D.
SolarfluX
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

Home Cafe: Football

Postby Arlo » Sat Aug 31, 2002 4:39 pm

Looks like you did rather well - you certainly managed to squeeze quite a bit out of your cap allotment. ;-D

Exactly what kind of salary cap format are you using? How are transactions made?

I do have one minor suggestion: Priest Holmes is coming off a career year which he may or may not be able to repeat, but is unlikely to exceed - in other words, you won't be able to make much of a profit on him. A sleeper back (Clinton Portis, depending on his cost?) might give you more opportunity to gain value, and you could use the money saved to pick up a sure-fire QB. Brooks is very good, but with your scoring (6 points for a passing td) favoring QBs, you might want someone even better.