Tie Break Rules Review - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Tie Break Rules Review

Moderator: Football Moderators

Tie Break Rules Review

Postby dupree » Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:11 pm

Hi Folks,
Got a question for the Vets out there about everyone's favorite topic...tie breakers...this is my 3rd season playing and 3rd season as a commissioner of a league of accquaintences. Last season, as a 3 way tie for the last two playoff spots was breathing down my neck I hastily researched and put in place, what I thought, was a fairly clear and comprehensive tie break rule. needless to say this shortsightedness at the beginning of the season blew up in my face and we are lucky to have all the involved parties back this season...

Anyway this year I vow to avoid any chance of a similar situation by the following set of rules. And given that I am a newbie I would love your feedback on the rules approach itself along with any comments on situations that are not covered..(full disclosure I have lifted a lot of wording from various sites).

=========================================================================================
If two teams have the same score in a playoff or regular season game, the winner will be determined by the first of the following rules which is not also a tie:

1. Total # of TD scored by Starters
2. Total Starting Kicker Points
3. Total Starting Def/ST Points
4. Total Starting TE Points
5. Total Starting QB Points
6. Home Team / Highest Playoff seed.

TO BREAK A TIE WITHIN A DIVISION
If, at the end of the regular season, two or more clubs in the same division finish with identical won-lost-tied percentages, the following steps will be taken until a champion is determined.

Two Clubs
1. Head-to-head (best won-lost-tied percentage in games between the clubs).
2. Best won-lost-tied percentage in games played within the division.
3. Most points in all games.