I need Auto Draft HELP! - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

I need Auto Draft HELP!

Moderator: Football Moderators

I need Auto Draft HELP!

Postby MN Rube » Mon Sep 02, 2002 11:53 am

This is my first year playing FF on NFL.com ... and I've never had to do an Auto Draft before ... I need some advise!

Some people have suggested going with RB in first 3 rounds and then hoping to trade one later for a good WR ... is that smart?

Are any good QB's gonna be left after the 3rd round?

What do you suggest for my draft order?

Is there any way to know what number pick I get? How do they decide that on NFL.com? I'm in a private league!

ANY help would be greatly appreciated!
MN Rube

Home Cafe: Football
Friendliness: %

I just completed my first auto-draft myself.

Postby trentvaughn » Mon Sep 02, 2002 7:13 pm

I found that everyone in my league except for one chose to pick a QB in the first round. So I had the second to last pick and got Ahman Green and then Curtis Martin in the second. I would pick two RBs, QB, two WRs, backup RB, backup QB, backup WR, DEF, TE, backup WR, K.

If you know the people in your group, try to get a feel for what kind of players they are. I'm a big believer that two solid RBs will win you a league. It's the only position where you start two players every week and there are only a maximum of 32 descent players. No team has a #2 back worth drafting not as a backup. Remember to take backups for injury prone players (Stacey Mack if you plan on trying to get Fred Taylor) in the later rounds instead of another backup. Good luck. My draft turned out great, but it's all about luck and what happens.

Trentvaughn

P.S. My draft had a random draft order, but the commissioner sets the style.
trentvaughn
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

Cafe Writer

Postby Ned » Tue Sep 03, 2002 12:26 am