Looking to start Fantasy Football this summer for first time - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

Looking to start Fantasy Football this summer for first time

Moderator: Football Moderators

Looking to start Fantasy Football this summer for first time

Postby Demon_Dave » Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:40 pm

Just wondering on some pointers for the better reference guides out there/tips for what to do to really strike it rich in a draft situation. I'm a seasoned veteran of NHL hockey pools, having won 3 regular season pools at work in the past 5 years, so I know that sport pretty well, but there are so many stats in football, and with so few games played, you've gotta pretty much bank on good games all the time or you'll get screwed (at least that's the feedback some of my friends who do these on a regular basis have told me).

Any suggestions would be great!
Demon_Dave
Monday Morning Quarterback

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Looking to start Fantasy Football this summer for first time

Postby bungle613 » Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:15 am

Sorry for the delay Dave, Easter etc...

Welcome to the Cafe. Good place to learn about the game. That is the first piece of advice. Read, read, read. Already some great threads about strategy and gameplay.

1) Start out in a standard league. This means avoid IDP (individual defensive players) strange scoring etc... Look for soemthing along the lines of starting requirements of 1 QB, 2 RB, 3 WR, 1 TE, 1 K, 1 D/ST and 5-8 bench spots. Standard scoring is 1 point for every 10 yards of rushing or receiving and 1 point for every 25 passing yards. All td's scored at 6 points per.

2) Play with friends or at least active members. Makes for a much more enjoyable season.

3) Start on Yahoo or Fleaflicker (both free) unless someone wants to pop for a MFL league. These are the best 3 sites for FF.