question concerning trading draft picks - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Commissioner's Corner

question concerning trading draft picks

Moderator: Football Moderators

question concerning trading draft picks

Postby borla118 » Wed May 27, 2009 2:02 pm

this is my first year running a fantasy keeper league

we agreed you can trade draft picks however the question came up

example,

if we have a 15 man roster, and ive traded players and recieved two extra picks in the early rounds, do i lose my last and second to last pick becuase we can only carry 15 people?

i am thinking yes, so for that person, once round 14/15 comes, they just do not draft anyone

is that a good way to have it done? thoughts?
borla118
Water Boy
Water Boy

Home Cafe: Football

Re: question concerning trading draft picks

Postby LegendoftheFall » Wed May 27, 2009 2:37 pm

if im understanding the scenario, the other guy would come up short on players.the way we handle this is by adding your last 2 picks into the trade so everybody will have the same # of players.

so for example if you trade a player for an extra 3rd round pick, you get his 3rd, he gets your player and your 15th (or whatever your last pick is.)

there may be a better way, but thats how we do it and it works fine to keep the roster #'s the same.
LegendoftheFall
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

Postby dream_017 » Wed May 27, 2009 2:41 pm

There are a couple options:
- you can do it the way you have it explained, once the roster limit is met, then you can not draft anymore players

- you could also expand rosters to a set limit, say 20 for the off season. Teams can pick up free agents after the draft, then set a cut down date a week or 2 before the season where you have to get back to the 15 player limit.

Some of it will depend on when you draft, how many players you keep, etc.

Personally, I would go with the initial option, but have seen it done both ways.
dream_017
Cafe Google
Cafe Google