Rookie needs draft advice - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Rookie needs draft advice

Moderator: Football Moderators

Rookie needs draft advice

Postby SisTrunked » Sun Jul 28, 2002 6:19 pm

What are the differences in postion drafting between a 10 and 14 team league? Should you grab a QB earlier in a 14 team league? RB's? WR's? I'm also drafting 3 defensive positions. Like I said I'm a rookie and would like to finish out of last place so any advice at all would be appreciated
SisTrunked

Home Cafe: Football
Friendliness: %

Postby SisTrunked » Sun Jul 28, 2002 6:22 pm

I should also say that both are new Keeper leagues
SisTrunked

Postby Fullaschit » Mon Jul 29, 2002 12:35 am

Hey Otis,
A good rule of thumb is, always take the best available player (QB, WR,RB only). Don't settle for a second tier running back and pass on a top tier QB because you want to stick to a stradagy.
Note; This does not apply to TE,K,def.
You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy than whats waiting at ESPORTNEWS,com . We must be cautious.
Fullaschit
Cheerleader
Cheerleader

Postby cwebb » Mon Jul 29, 2002 4:12 am

There are lots of different strategies, Fulla is right, TE (except Gonzalez), K, and defense players can be drafted very late with not much of a loss of production.

RB is the most important position, only every-down backs are good fantasy players, and those are hard to find. And it's always easier to trade a RB away and get good value than to trade for a RB, because the price is very high.

WR and QB are easier to fill because there's a whole lot of them, all of them getting all the playing time.

What's maybe very important for a rookie: Don't get caught up in runs. If three guys before you pick the first TEs, don't go for number four in a row, they will have overlooked a better WR or QB easily and you can pick a TE very much later and you won't lose much.
cwebb
Bouncer
Bouncer