Trying to imitate PLindsey - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Trying to imitate PLindsey

Moderator: Football Moderators

Trying to imitate PLindsey

Postby biju » Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:22 am

Ok guys, for those of you who have been around this neck of the woods a long time you'll undoubtedly remember that PLindsey88 was the DST guru. For a few years he showed us magic by using data to explain which DSTs (however unlikely) would dominate in the upcoming week and being very successful in doing so.

This is not a repeat of that.

This is my very first attempt with the numbers. I'm not hiding in the shadows testing my method out and waiting until it looks good. I'm putting it out there very raw. The reason for doing so is so folks can challenge how the numbers fall--if they believe these rankings look accurate or not. I'll give my explanation of why the numbers are saying what they are saying to back up the numbers, but much like PLindsey I'm going to keep the method hidden. If I happen to strike gold, then the Cafe strikes Gold as well and that's good for everyone here. Normally these would also go into one of the "Routine Plays" sub-forums, but for traffic and the need for feedback I decided to post it here. Mods, please move it if you feel this is in the wrong place.

And with that, the numbers...

Code: Select all
Pittsburgh Steelers      7.43
Green Bay Packers        5.68
Seattle Seahawks         4.71
San Diego Chargers       3.83
Chicago Bears            2.02
Tampa Bay Buccaneers     1.57
Dallas Cowboys           1.39
Tennessee Titans         0.41
New England Patriots    -0.11
Atlanta Falcons         -0.76
Detroit Lions           -0.78
St. Louis Rams          -0.78
New York Jets           -1.65
Kansas City Chiefs      -2.07
New York Giants         -2.24
Oakland Raiders         -2.39
Minnesota Vikings       -3.27
New Orleans Saints      -3.51
Cleveland Browns        -4.54
Philadelphia Eagles     -4.86