Keeper league questions - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Keeper league questions

Moderator: Football Moderators

Keeper league questions

Postby KingGhidra » Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:17 am

I've never done a keeper league before, so I wanted some input on a few things.

I'm trying to get a couple of the leagues I comish to convert to a keeper format, using players from this years teams. What do I do with players on teams for owners who decide not to return? Do I put them into the draft pool, or have another owner take over the team and let them make the decision?

How do you handle trades? Do you allow trading of draft picks for players or just draft pick for draft pick?

I was thinking of handling the draft like this: All teams submit their keepers to me a week for the draft. Once all teams have submitted their keepers, I'd post a a list of the keepers and the draft order. Am I missing anything or am I setting myself up for a mistake?
KingGhidra
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe RankerMock(ing) Drafter
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Keeper league questions

Postby Buckychudd » Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:25 am

KingGhidra wrote:I'm trying to get a couple of the leagues I comish to convert to a keeper format, using players from this years teams. What do I do with players on teams for owners who decide not to return? Do I put them into the draft pool, or have another owner take over the team and let them make the decision?

Unless you told people at the start of this season that it was going to be a keeper, I wouldn't try to do it with this year's players. If you are going to start a new keeper league, you have to announce before the first draft. Drafting for keeper leagues is a different proposition, and requires a different strategy than one-off leagues.....don't convert current players.