Expanding to 12 teams, adjust roster size? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Commissioner's Corner

Expanding to 12 teams, adjust roster size?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Expanding to 12 teams, adjust roster size?

Postby Hags888 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 3:37 pm

Hey All,

I'm only in my second year as a commissioner, and therefore have little experience with this sort of thing. I've been playing FF for 4 years, but only in 10 team leagues, so I have no experience with how 12-team leagues operate. My league this year expanded from a 10-team standard league to a 12-team standard league. I'm concerned that the quality of players available on the waiver wire, and in the late rounds of the draft, will be significantly less, and I'm wondering if it's a good idea to reduce the number of roster players to help combat this problem? It's worth pointing out that a significant number of team owners in the league are either newbs this year, or were newbs last year.

The roster spots last year for my 10-team were the following:
QB
RB x2
WR x2
FLEX (WR/RB)
TE
D/ST
K
Bench x7

So, we had 16 total players, with 9 starters and 7 bench. I'm considering reducing the number of starters by 1, so that every team only drafts 15 players. Would this be a good idea? If so, where would you cut the extra player? Would you cut the number of starters or the bench? I'm toying with 8 starters and 7 bench, so it would look like this:
QB
RB
WR
FLEX x2
TE
D/ST
K
Bench x7

I also want this to be as conventional a league as possible, and I'm worried that the above change would make it a bizarre league. Any thoughts or opinions here? I'm certainly willing to offer any help/advice I can in return!
SKOL VIKINGS!
Hags888
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

(Past Year: 4)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Expanding to 12 teams, adjust roster size?

Postby xbo » Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:50 pm