First time doing an Auction Draft. (WHIR) - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Roster Ratings

First time doing an Auction Draft. (WHIR)

Moderator: Football Moderators

First time doing an Auction Draft. (WHIR)

Postby fn1cn2 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:20 pm

This a 10 team auction draft, with standard scoring, non-ppr. QBs get 6 points for all passing touchdowns. This is my first attempt at an auction, and I'd like to know what you think. I passed on the big name running backs, and tried to save a little money there and getting better WRs, and utilizing some of the mid level depth at RB. I think one of my main leagues is switching from Snake to Auction next year, so I'd like to figure out a strategy based a little on my experience with this one. Thanks for any help, and please leave a link and I will take a look at yours.

Start
1 QB, 2 RB, 3 WR, 1 TE, 1 K, 1 D/ST

My Team:
QB: Brees, Flacco
RB: Bradshaw, Wells, Lynch, Tolbert, Jacobs
WR: Fitzgerald, VJAX, Maclin, S. Moss, Mike Thomas, Lance Moore
TE: Jimmy Graham
K: Gostkowski
D/ST: Ravens
fn1cn2
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

(Past Year: 4)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: First time doing an Auction Draft. (WHIR)

Postby mongo366 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:08 pm

It seems like you did a good job of managing your money and sticking to your plan which is the biggest challenge in an auction. You are clearly in great shape at QB, WR and TE; however, as you mentioned your RBs are not as impressive. While I am a big fan of Wells, the rest of your RBs are in clear time-shares. As such, I would recommend trading Bradshaw and Maclin to a receiver starved team for an upgrade at RB. You might be able to target someone like Blount or Green (I find it helpful to revisit the draft results and find players who went for comparable dollar values). Just my two cents.