How many players at each position should you have? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

How many players at each position should you have?

Moderator: Football Moderators

How many players at each position should you have?

Postby Jeff Kearns » Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:45 pm

Ok, if you play in a standard league like I do, where you start 1 QB, 2 RBs, 2 WRs, 1 TE, 1 Flex, 1 K, and 1 Def/ST, what kind of players should you have on your bench? Should you have two tight ends on your roster? What about two defenses?

This is my first year, and I find myself at this point in the season with 2 QBs, 5 RBs, 5 WRs, 1 TE, 1 K, and 1 Def/ST on my roster. Is that a good or bad thing? Should I get a reserve TE?
Jeff Kearns
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

(Past Year: 28)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: How many players at each position should you have?

Postby shawngee03 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:40 am

only 1 TE, DEF, K. just drop the def and K when they have byes and pick another one up. you shoudl probably be using a different DEF each week anyways as there isnt a dominant DEF anymore liek the old Balt and Chic teams of a few years ago

TE...on his bye week drop your worst bench guy for a bye week filler. but dont waste a bench spot on a second TE the other weeks

ive always had good luck w having 1 backup QB, 1 bench WR for byes, and the rest Rbs.

QBs get hurt every once in a while...so its nice to have a decent one on the bench. WRs almost never get hurt....so no need for a bunch of backups as you should be playing your 2 starters each week. but its nice to have a decent one for byes and the chance one of yoru starters gets hurt

RBs however get hurt all the time. so grab as many as possible. like kendall hunter....he should be on someone's bench for when Gore misses his few games eventually
shawngee03
Offensive Coordinator
Offensive Coordinator

Postby Sex Panther » Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:13 pm

Totally depends, there's no "right" answer.