Late season sleeper?? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Late season sleeper??

Moderator: Football Moderators

Late season sleeper??

Postby tripower » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:05 am

I'll throw it out there that I'm a fantasy football rookie.

It's open to debate, but the 49ers have a shot at clinching the NFC West by the end of November, perhaps early December. That said, is it a reasonable assumption the Niners will sit Frank Gore, as to give him a rest before the playoffs?

I'm thinking Kendall Hunter could be a solid late season sleeper pick up....What do you all think?
tripower
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

(Past Year: 28)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: Late season sleeper??

Postby spodog » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:33 pm

wouldn't disagree with that. Every other team in the NFC west may be below .500 permanantly by Thanksgiving.
spodog
General Manager
General Manager

Cafe WriterCafe RankerCafe SpotterWeb SupporterMatchup Meltdown SurvivorCafe Blackjack Weekly WinnerLucky Ladders Weekly Winner

Postby dgan » Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:29 pm

The risk of Gore getting injured is higher than the risk of him sitting for a month to ride out the season. But either way you slice it, Hunter should be stashed in all leagues that allow any sort of bench. I also think Ringer is a guy you have to watch out for. I sincerely doubt CJ gets benched, but it is not unusual for a player who is "off" like he has been to suffer an injury...either aggravate something he's been dealing with or just gets himself hit one too many times because he isn't playing well.

I also look at a guy like Barber. Forte is getting a ton of action...if he went down, Barber wouldn't be nearly as productive but someone has to fill that role. Barber could certainly do that.