The Best Fantasy Football League Settings - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Commissioner's Corner

The Best Fantasy Football League Settings

Moderator: Football Moderators

The Best Fantasy Football League Settings

Postby Eric21ND » Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:10 pm

I'm new to Fantasy Football, but I want to create an entertaining and engaging league. I'm looking for the best settings for the league I'll be running this season. I found this article concerning the matter...what do you think of this guy's take?

I’ve been playing fantasy football for over ten years now. I found early on that I enjoyed it but typical league settings were flawed. Some of the issues I had with typical fantasy football leagues were the following:

- Way too much emphasis on the final week(s) of the season.

- Quarterbacks and defenses have little value because each week you could easily pick up a QB or DEF playing a soft team.

- One player can have way too much influence on the outcome of the league (see Marshall Faulk 2000).

- For team defenses, not enough value placed on points given up.

- Depth made no difference since you rarely played any players outside your top 8 or 10.

Because of these issues, I decided to create my own league settings in hopes that it would be a better league. That was back in 2002. I also made this league a keeper league and I can say that this league is by far the best, most fun fantasy league I have ever played in. While all of my other leagues (football, baseball and basketball) have broken up, this league has had the same 10 members since we started. As we enter our 9th year, there is no sign that anyone is going to leave the league any time soon. And we haven’t wanted or needed to change any settings since it began.

Anyway, the league has been such a success that I feel the need to share it with the world. If you are looking for a new fantasy football league, I highly recommend using these settings.
Starting Lineups & Rosters