How to draft with non-standard scoring? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

How to draft with non-standard scoring?

Moderator: Football Moderators

How to draft with non-standard scoring?

Postby mike208 » Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:10 pm

I have been playing fantasy football for several years now but my league has changed its scoring settings this year, so i want to make sure I draft in the best way possible. It's a relatively standard scoring format. 10yards per point for RB/WR/TE. 6 points for a TD for everybody. The biggest change is that QB's are at 15 yards per point. 1QB, 2 WR, 2 RB 1 W/R per roster. 10 team league.

I used a "calculator" from another site that takes the scoring system and ranks the players. With this system is had the top 3QB's at 560+ points for the season. The next 7 range from 516 to 402 points. with a big drop off at 7. As for the RB's they rank foster at 316pts. 2 through are 278 down to 223. 11 through 20 is 219 to 182.

Obviously the lowest scoring starting QB outscores the highest rated starting RB. So do I draft a QB in round 1(especially if i can get one of the top 3 before the drop off at 4). Or do I still draft RB first? Hoping I can grab 2 stud RB's or a stud RB and WR and then a decent QB?
mike208
Water Boy
Water Boy

(Past Year: 8)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: How to draft with non-standard scoring?

Postby Cowboys 4 life » Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:23 pm

First off the league is definitely QB friendly.

I think you still need to take the BPA. If you have a chance at the top 4 QB's grab them but dont overvalue them so much you draft them too early. Talk to a few people in the league as friends and ask them what they think about the change and how they are planning to compensate. You might get some valuable intelligence you can use later. }:-)