New guy looking for some advice - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

New guy looking for some advice

Moderator: Football Moderators

New guy looking for some advice

Postby House » Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:43 pm

I'm new to fantasy football and playing in a 12-team league with standard scoring. Considering I was doing all my research during the draft, and I've only been a casual football fan, I'm actually pretty happy with my team:

STARTERS
QB: Robert Griffin III
RB: Arian Foster
RB: Frank Gore
WR: Julio Jones
WR: Victor Cruz
TE: Antonio Gates
W/R/T: Pierre Garcon
K: Jason Hanson
DEF: NYG

BENCH
QB: Andrew Luck
RB: DeAngelo Williams
RB: Isaiah Pead
WR: Davone Bess
WR: Randall Cobb
TE: Jermaine Gresham

I know there are some weaknesses with my bench - I will admit that I'd only heard of two of the players on it before I drafted them, and was going off the Yahoo rankings and player notes - but I'm not sure of the right strategy for fixing it. We get 30 acquisitions but I don't really know how to properly use them, since I don't really know how the season plays out or what the other people in my league will do.

Should I grab free agents right now? (e.g., Ronnie Brown is available my league and probably a better bet than Cobb) Should I instead be patient and wait a few weeks to see what happens with guys like Pead, Bess, and Cobb? Should I wait until closer to the bye weeks for my starters and pick up players who are performing well at that time? Should I be dumping and adding guys every week? Should I try for a trade?

I really appreciate any advice you guys can offer.
House
Cheerleader
Cheerleader

Home Cafe: Football

Re: New guy looking for some advice

Postby 11stever11 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 8:32 pm

Welcome to the Cafe ;-D