Is there a lawyer in the house? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Is there a lawyer in the house?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Is there a lawyer in the house?

Postby Billy joe » Thu Dec 11, 2003 7:35 pm

Which method is more fair and why?

Seeding by record...

Div. Winner 1 (11-3) v.
Div. Winner 3 (6-8)
AND
Div. Winner 2 (10-4) v.
Wild-card (9-5)

Seeding by division winner...

Div. Winner 1 (11-3) v.
Wild-card (9-5)
AND
Div. Winner 2 (10-4) v.
Div. Winner 3 (6-8)
Billy joe Beginner
Monday Morning Quarterback

Home Cafe: Football

Postby altproject » Thu Dec 11, 2003 7:46 pm

i'm not a lawyer, but traditionally, the NFL sets the highest seeded team against the lowest. generally, division winners are given higher seeds over wildcards. therefore, #2 is the "most fair" way of doing it -- where the best division winner plays the wildcard.

i know what you're thinking... the 6-8 division winner is a lesser team than the wildcard, so shouldn't the best division winner get to play them instead? what makes it fair is not looking at it from the #1 division winner's point of view. look at it from the #3 division winner's point of view (the 6-8 guy). he won his division and therefore he deserves the #3 seed. that is the main reason for having divisions and the incentive behind winning them. therefore, the wildcard has to placed #4 by process of elimination. it ends up to be a tougher matchup for the #1 division winner... but that's the luck of the draw.
20 Team League | 11-3 | 5th Place
--------------------------------------------
Q: Kitna, Flutie
R: Henry, Portis, T. Jones, Rudi, Griffin, Burns
W: Chambers, Ward
T: Shockey
K: Elling
D: Bills
altproject
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

Postby Guest » Thu Dec 11, 2003 7:58 pm

Thanks alot for your input.

However I'm going to throw out your argument that "It's the way of the NFL". Only because it assumes that the NFL seeding is as fair as it can possibly be.