Can fantasy football ability be predicted or measured? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Can fantasy football ability be predicted or measured?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Can fantasy football ability be predicted or measured?

Postby jjswatt » Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:18 pm

I'm new to the website. I have some fantasy football knowledge/experience. I'm here with a question after talking about my question with several people.

Can skill or ability to win at fantasy football be predicted in advance? Or how good someone is at fantasy football? Knowledge of the NFL that can be memorized, such as who represented the AFC in the Pro Bowl last year, obviously helps form a baseline of knowledge, but it doesn't really aid in playing fantasy football successfully at the highest levels because fantasy football is about more than just the best players. It's about matchups, weather conditions, coaching, who has what to play for (playoff position, resting starters) etc. So is there/would there be a way to try to predict how someone will do in fantasy football? Or is there a way to measure how good someone actually is at fantasy football? If someone drafted the best team on paper, but because of injuries or other reasons their team didn't perform well in the league, are they still a good fantasy football player?

I'm hoping to get a lot of responses and a good discussion going. Thanks!
jjswatt
Monday Morning Quarterback

Home Cafe: Football

Re: Can fantasy football ability be predicted or measured?

Postby shawngee03 » Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:42 pm

i have found that raw intelligence is a good indicator. the ability of someone to follow logic and algorithms, make sound desicions and solve problems is the best indicator of success.

with the internet, you dont need memorization anymore. also, you can read plenty of analysis and get rankings/projections from plenty of places. so teh ability to find info isnt important either