how often do you look into projections? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Beginner's Forum

how often do you look into projections?

Moderator: Football Moderators

how often do you look into projections?

Postby rtannehillfan24 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:36 pm

I'm in my second year playing fantasy football. I'm doing pretty good this year, 8-4, but I still can't really help when I see a guy who I think will have a big day, and he is only projected to get like 3 fantasy points. Sometimes I wonder if I should play him. I know most of the projections are based on the madden video game, but still...

anyone else feel this way?
rtannehillfan24
Water Boy
Water Boy

(Past Year: 13)
Home Cafe: Football

Re: how often do you look into projections?

Postby Shoju » Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:21 pm

I'll be honest. I've been doing Fantasy Football for close to 10 years, and I still look at projections. I don't follow them strictly, but I think that they are a pretty good barometer.

I look at projections, and then I look at matchups, and then I look at what some of the guys are saying (I prefer Matthew Berry, but that's because I've been reading him for a long time).

The best analogy I can use, is that your Fantasy Football Team is a project that you are building. Whatever you use to make your decisions, are tools. It's all about finding the tools that work for you, and using them. I play in an ESPN league, and have for about 4 years now. I will say, in those 4-5 years, this is the worst year I've seen on the projections. There has been an awful lot of overhype in projections, more so than I remember.

For an example, go look at the projections the past two weeks for Benjamin Watson of the Browns. They have put him in double digits since he caught two TD passes. That just isn't going to happen. Not with a team like the browns. But then look at Cecil Shorts. His Projections have stayed a little under, or right on, with where he is.