Kitna in San Diego? - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Kitna in San Diego?

Moderator: Football Moderators

Kitna in San Diego?

Postby Canacuna » Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:14 pm

The San Diego Union Tribune wrote:Bengals coach Marvin Lewis announced yesterday that 2003 first-round draft choice Carson Palmer will replace Kitna as the starter this coming season. The news wasn't shocking to Kitna, who knew a change would come sooner than later because of the financial investment the team has made in Palmer.

At the same time he said he believes he still can be an effective starter and would like to do it elsewhere this year, with San Diego at the top of his list.

"When I was a free agent three years ago, San Diego was the place I really wanted to be," Kitna, 31, said by phone. "But there was no interest on their part."

Since then, the Chargers have gone old and young, trotting out Doug Flutie and Drew Brees. Neither has had consistent success, and now the Chargers openly acknowledge they're in the market for a capable veteran.

Kitna Has His Eyes on Joining Chargers

That would work out nicely for San Diego (assuming they believe last season wasn't a fluke or anything). It certainly would open up some draft options for them (draft Larry Fitzgerald, Mike Williams, Robert Gallery, etc.)...

As for Cincinatti, if Palmer is the real deal, they won't need Kitna and could get something for him this way.
'CUNA-MANIA IS RUNNING WILD!
"You will be a king here, instead of a peasant at the Cafe."
Canacuna
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Cafe RankerMock(ing) DrafterEagle EyeWeb Supporter
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Go Vikes » Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:21 pm

I think Kitna deserves to play somewhere after his terrific year last year if he can put up similar or better numbers
Go Vikes
Head Coach
Head Coach

Postby terpfan » Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:57 pm