The NFL is just plain wrong here......... - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

The NFL is just plain wrong here.........

Moderator: Football Moderators

The NFL is just plain wrong here.........

Postby WatchMeDisappear » Tue Apr 20, 2004 10:04 pm

I know this is my very first time posting here but i am a long time reader here and i just wanted to say something that i need to get off my shoulders.

Regarding the recent court decision regarding entry into the NFL draft, I have the following to say.First off, lets say that a very talented 19 year old football player wants to get paid to play football. What are his options? Let's say that this particular young man is not very book smart, and would not do well at all in college. Does he then have to go to college for 3 years to earn the right to play in the NFL? As I see it, this is not fair. His going to college isn't a fair qualification for entering the league and playing football. If his ambition is to be a professional football player, and he has the talent to do so, why should he not be allowed. Some people bring up the fact that physicality is an issue. Well I can name off hundreds of guys in the NFL that are smaller than both Maurice Clarett and Mike Williams. Your telling me that Mike Williams is not physically ready to play against a 5'10, 180 lbs Ty Law. Williams is 6-5, 230 for christs sake. So, the physicality argument is rendered useless. Finally, how can we condone a guy like Pete Sampras leaving middle school at age 14 to play professional tennis, yet we have so much of an issue with letting an 18 year old play pro football? So your telling me that Maurice Clarett could go over to Baghdad and fight for his country but he can't play football in it???
WatchMeDisappear
Water Boy
Water Boy

Home Cafe: Football

Postby Football Newbie » Tue Apr 20, 2004 10:09 pm