New to FF... couple questions - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

New to FF... couple questions

Moderator: Football Moderators

New to FF... couple questions

Postby Count_Rugen » Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:32 pm

Hey all,

I'm a first year FF coach, so I'm still a little unsure of how the FF tactics relate in regards to real-life. Already learned alot just from reading this board, though. A few questions for you veterans, if you got the time:

1. My league lineup is set up so that I could start more WR than TE (i.e., WR/TE), or vice-versa. What's better in FF?

2. What positions would you choose automatically each round in drafting? 1st = QB, 2nd = RB, etc... Or do you find it's better to ditch your plan and choose another position if your pick has already been chosen? Hearing you all's experience on this would rock.

3. Anyone have any good strategies in drafting and starting players?

Thanks!
Count_Rugen
Defensive Assistant
Defensive Assistant

Home Cafe: Football

Postby Ek » Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:54 pm

1. WRs and TEs accumulate the same type of stats, so whoever is putting up more yards and TDs will be better for you. 98% of the time, this is a WR.

2. I'd say the relative importance of the positions are as follows in a normal league (some people might argue w/ me on some of these) - prioritize accordingly:
RB - A position where there's less good players than starting positions. The most consistent source of points. I can't emphasize their value enough. If you have the best stable of RBs in your league, you're probably going to the playoffs. 2 of your top 3 picks should be RBs.
QB - Usually a team's biggest point scorer, but there are so many good ones that most teams will wind up being about even at this position, so drafting one high is dangerous. Worth taking the best (Manning/Culpepper) in the late second/early third round, but you can get good ones in the 6th-7th round, too.