Rookie RBs... - Fantasy Football Cafe 2014 Fantasy Football Cafe

Return to Football Talk

Rookie RBs...

Moderator: Football Moderators

Rookie RBs...

Postby spamnon » Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:41 am

I am fairly new to the fantasy football thing but I am curious about the recent success of rookie RBs in the league?

People are high on guys like:

Kevin Jones
Julius Jones
Stephen Jackson
Tatum Bell
Chris Perry
Mewulde Moore

But how often are rookie RBs successful in their first year? Even with rookie WRs (fitz and roy), some people are expecting big numbers, but in the past 6 years only 2 guys have done that, right? Moss and Boldin. Is there a higher sucess rate for rookie RBs and if so can someone name a few rookie backs from the past couple years that have had great fantasy seasons?

I am even skeptical on 2nd year guys who hardly touched the ball as rookies, like:

Chris Brown
Lee Suggs
Musa Smith
Dominick Davis (only guy I can think of who was good as a rookie)
Onterrio Smith
Quentin Griffin
Willis McGahee
Larry Johnson

I understand all of these guys had excellent college careers but why are so many people so high on these young players to have huge seasons? Maybe I am just naive...
spamnon
Special Teams Staff
Special Teams Staff

Home Cafe: Baseball

Postby awwchrist » Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:47 am

Well who else is left to draft asides from first round material?

You learn to get a feeling about a certain player, wether it's last season's performance, this year's potential, or what have you...calculate the risk of taking said player in whatever round you are planning to draft him, and then take your shot.

I'm not sure I answered your question. Sometimes it's just a lesser of evils even.
Hall of Fame Hero
Hall of Fame Hero

Mock(ing) DrafterInnovative MemberSweet 16 SurvivorLucky Ladders Weekly Winner
Home Cafe: Football

Postby Superman in Training » Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:52 am